Lichfield City1


Date Time Competition Season
May 30, 2023 7:30 pm J. W. Hunt Cup 2022-23


JW Hunt Cup
Tuesday 30th May 2023
Tividale 0-1 Lichfield City

Tividale not at the Races

Tividale will feel they could have done better with their performance in this cup final and Dave King’s last game in charge, but congratulations must go to Lichfield City who made the most of their chance and are the 2023 JW Hunt cup winners.

Tividale made just the one change to the side that edged past Wednesfield in the semifinal. With Nashawn Blake replacing Reinaldo Forbes as Dan Smith’s strike partner.

Tividale had the first chance on goal when a Malcolm Melvin through ball to Dan Smith, saw the forward put the ball into the back of the net but he was adjudged offside. City’s Liam Kirton was then denied by Louis Connor in the Tividale goal. Melvin then had a free kick hit that hit the bar and went over with City keeper James Beeson rooted to the spot. After a surging run by Jack Fletcher his pass found Blake and his shot was turned away for a corner by Beeson.

On 28 minutes City went ahead and Tividale’s defence will feel they should have done better in the build-up, allowing City left back Joe Haines to run unchallenged deep into the Tividale area and fire home from 8 yards. Kirton then fired past Connor, but the ball had gone out for a Tividale goal kick in the build-up. Minutes later and Kirton then fired wide.

Half time:- Tividale 0-1 Lichfield City

The second half started poorly with neither side able to keep hold of the ball and apart from a Fletcher run and shot there was nothing much to write home about. Leighton McMenemy then struck the cross bar from a corner.

City were now in the ascendancy and Childs blasted the ball into the side netting after again seeing off a number of Tividale challenges. Patterson then thought he had put City 2-0 up when the ball fell to him unmarked in the Tividale box, but he was adjudged offside. Melvin then saw another free kick flash wide, before City’s Jack Edwards also hit the side netting. That was the last of the goalmouth action as Lichfield ran out deserved winners.

Full Time:- Tividale 0-1 Lichfield City

Tividale: – 1. Louis Connor, 2. Zac Kourouyianni, 3. Kamol Campbell (15. Ryan Snape 83), 4. Joe Burroughs (14. Jakob Burroughs 46), 5. Louis Ezewele, 6. Joe Hawkins, 7. Malcolm Melvin, 8. Jason Wood, 9. Dan Smith, 10. Nashawn Blake (12. Reinaldo Forbes 46), 11. Jack Fletcher.