Bewdley Town4


Date Time Competition Season
August 26, 2023 3:00 pm MFL Premier 2023-24


Midland Football League
Premier Division
Saturday 26th August 2023
Tividale 1-4 Bewdley Town

Tividale still struggling.

These match reports are becoming a bit like Groundhog Day, as once again Tividale conceded 4 goals. That makes it 5 games played so far this season and we have conceded 4 goals in 4 of them. Now it does not take a genius to see that this cannot go on. Or it will not only be a long season but a very painful one.

After last Saturday’s defeat against AFC Wulfrunians and with Jason Wood leaving the club and Arman Khoshkhoo and Joe Hawkins both injured, manager Stuart How made a number of changes for the first of the two Bank Holiday fixtures. Dropped to the bench were Jakob Burroughs, Tarryl Davis, and Ewan Evans. In came Max Morris, Joe Burroughs, Kamol Campbell, Lewis Taylor-Boyce and after injury captain Zac Kourouyianni.

Tividale started brightly and could have been 2 or 3 up before the Bewdley opener after 30 minutes. Tividale though should have been ahead in the 2nd minute when Bewdley skipper Lewis Moseley brought down Taylor Townsend in the penalty area. Townsend himself stepped up but blasted the spot kick over the bar.

On 6 minutes Callum Gillies whipped a ball across the box but neither Dom Dell nor Townsend could get the ball under control and find the net.

Tividale continued to exert pressure and it was 15 minutes into the game before Bewdley created a decent chance. And a fine one it was too. Bewdley striker Ben Worthington forcing Louis Connor to turn his shot around the post. Dell then headed over a Cody Mullan cross on 21 minutes. A minute later and from a home free kick just outside the box James Douglas played the ball square to Dell but he drilled his shot just wide.

Tividale were themselves guilty of petty fouls around their area and from one of those on 27 minutes, a Jack Ricketts effort crashed off the underside of the bar and Tividale cleared the danger. As much as Tividale had possession and were creating chances, Bewdley were looking dangerous when they had the ball and on 30 minutes Douglas lost the ball on the halfway line. One long ball then split the Tividale defence and Worthington run onto it and fires past Connor to put the visitors a goal up.

Three minutes later and Worthington is through again but this time he is foiled by a brilliant Joe Burroughs tackle. Yet the warnings went unheeded because on 38 minutes another ball over the top found Worthington and again, he made no mistake putting Bewdley 2-0 up at the break.

Half Time: Tividale 0-2 Bewdley Town

​As in the first half Tividale had a great chance to open the scoring within the first couple of minutes when Joe Burroughs headed over a Townsend corner. Then right at the other end a deflected Ricketts shot was turned around the post by Connor.

Tividale halved the deficit on 62 minutes when Ryan Snape came off the bench and curled home a free kick from 25 yards out, leaving Bewdley keeper Louis Beresford no chance. Snape had another chance 5 minutes later but this time he could not hit the target and it sailed over the bar.

Tividale were again doing the attacking and were looking good for the next goal and somehow Bewdley escaped with their goal intact after a mad goalmouth scramble that they ended up with conceding a corner.

Bewdley restored their two-goal lead in the 78th minute when Kai Del Kiffin was allowed to run at the heart of the Tividale defence and he fired past Connor. The goal knocked the stuffing out of a Tividale side low on confidence and although there was the odd attacking flurry the points were Bewdley’s. Townsend sent a free kick over the Bewdley bar with 3 minutes of normal time to go.

But Bewdley hit the regulation 4th goal in the 7th minute of stoppage time when Worthington was allowed once again to run clear after the Tividale defence was caught out again but this time he unselfishly rolled the ball into the path of Ricketts of shot into an empty net.


Full Time: Tividale 1-4 Bewdley Town

Tividale: – 1. Louis Connor, 2. Zac Kourouyianni 3. Callum Gillies (11. Ryan  Snape 52), 6. Joe Burroughs, 7. Taylor Townsend, 16. Max Morris (4. Jakob Burroughs 46), 9. Dominic Dell, 10. James Douglas, 12. Kamol Campbell 14. Cody Mullan, 19. Lewis Taylor-Boyce (17. Ewan Edwards 52).

Unused Subs:- 15. Nashawn Blake, 18. Taryll Davis)